Partials by Dan Wells (Book Review)

Title: Partials (Partials Sequence #1)

Author: Dan Wells

Release Date: February 28th, 2012

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one’s own point of view.-Goodreads

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

My Thoughts:

I felt that Dan Wells has a created a world so unique and different that has set it apart from any other dystopian worlds. It was a not only a mix of  dystopian and post apocalypse, but also sci-f. A great combination if I must say so myself.

Partials takes place in a futuristic world, in the year 2076, where the human race is slowly becoming extinct with only 50,000 humans left on Earth. Working as a medic-intern, Kira Walker is constantly facing deaths of newborns who either die immediately after they are born, or after 56 hours, due to a virus called “RM” that kills them. Kira is tired of having to wait for scientists and doctors to find a cure, so once her best friend gets pregnant, Kira takes no chance in waiting and immediately makes up her mind of trying to find a cure herself. Through her actions, you can see how determined Kira is to not only save her best friend, but also everyone else who is facing this disaster, and I liked that about her. Though it did get annoying at times when she felt like she had to save EVERYONE. I wanted to say, “lets be a little realistic here, Kira.”

As for the side characters, I felt attached to only a few of them especially one of them, but was devastated when Dan Wells made the choice he did. Although I suppose it was for the best. It was a brave move and I felt Mr.Wells wasn’t afraid to do something to a character. It was very refreshing to see that. The Partials however, were very interesting, and mysterious, because they definitely do play a big part in the plot.

Now you may be wondering, where did this so-called virus “RM” come from? Well as the title reads, “Partials” are actually human looking robots whom the human race has created to fight for them. However, what they hadn’t seen coming was the fact that the Partials would turn against them, leaving them with a disease they must endure, including future generations being unable to bear any children. Therefore, explains the reason as to why the human race is slowly dying because for the obvious reason, they are unable to reproduce. Being someone who is very clever and is willing to take risks, Kira comes up with a brillaint plan of hunting down a Partial, and using it as a “guinea pig” in order to find at least something that will help her for her research to finding a cure.

Immediately the first thought I had when Kira mentioned her plan-heck she’s brilliant, she should have been a scientist. Then it occurred to me that, how is it possible that after many years of top scientists, researchers and doctors working hard to come with a plan to find a cure(that is likely to work), it is instead a sixteen year old who comes up with a plan, that just suddenly popped up in her mind. I don’t know maybe it’s just me, but I found that slightly strange. Of course I didn’t let that interfere with my love for this book.

Partials did however start off with a a slow pace, but gradually picked up once the action kicked in, but no worries, until then you won’t be bored out your mind. This book is not only full of action, but also has a a lot of science to it, more heavily leading to the biology side, since Kira is a medic-intern. So there is a chunk of medical stuff about the virus in this book. Though by being a bit of a science geek myself, I took my time with understanding all the medical terms and ended up enjoying it because unlike in school, where the scientific terms went above my head, I didn’t allow that to happen with Partials because I wanted the full effect of  the plot. Dan Wells has definitely done his research to the full extent.

This book kept me excited and grasping for more, as answers to my questions started to reveal itself. The twists in this book were mostly unpredictable and a shocker, which leads to the next thing, the ending. Totally did not see that one coming! Those of you who have read it, you know what I’m talking about, and those who haven’t, well, be prepared(unlike  me) and have the next book by your side because I’m telling you, crazy plot twist! So once I finished Partials of course my jaw was hanging because I needed the next book. Ever since then I’ve been on the hunt for the sequel, Fragments, yet still haven’t purchased a copy of it. You see, I’m horrible when it comes to reading a series. It takes me a longgg time to pick up its sequels. Shameful, I know. That however, is a topic for another time. 🙂

Although Partials mainly focuses on the plot rather than the characters, it was still an excellent debut to the start of a futuristic post-apocalypse trilogy. If you love a mix of science fiction, post apocalypse, and dystopian with a slice of mystery all in one, then I highly recommend this book! You will not be disappointed.

2 thoughts on “Partials by Dan Wells (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

