Of Poseidon by Anna Banks (Book Review)

Title: Of Poseidon (The Syrena Legacy #1)

Author: Anna Banks

Release Date: May 22nd, 2012

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Galen is the prince of the Syrena, sent to land to find a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish. Emma is on vacation at the beach. When she runs into Galen—literally, ouch!—both teens sense a connection. But it will take several encounters, including a deadly one with a shark, for Galen to be convinced of Emma’s gifts. Now, if he can only convince Emma that she holds the key to his kingdom…

Told from both Emma and Galen’s points of view, here is a fish-out-of-water story that sparkles with intrigue, humor, and waves of romance. -Goodreads

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

My Thoughts:

Of Poseidon is one of those really fun, entertaining, and intriguing kind of book, with a mix of greek mythology.(However, by having an interest in Greek mythology, there was an issue I came across with in this novel which I will get into later in my review.) I would say its not to heavy on the Greek mythology but well balanced, making the book more light hearted and enjoyable to read about. Several times I found my self laughing out and gushing over what the characters where saying and how they responded to each other. I couldn’t help but fly through this book and once it had ended, I was wanting for more.

The opening scene of this story surprisingly caught my interest. It takes off with Emma, our main female protagonist, is on summer vacation with her best friend Chole at the beach. While clumisly running around, she stumbles and literally smacks face first into some random guy’s chest. Totally normal.(Aha just kidding) From then, the story takes off and starts to grow and develop.

Firstly, I really liked the way Emma communicated. She spoke in the most natural, wittiest way, sounding just like a teenager. This made her to be someone I was easily able to connect with. Her personality was also very teenage-like as she was a very lively, and sweet and does stuff such as hanging out in the beach her best friend, swooning over hot guys, etc. A character trait that suited her very well. Even when she was told about her gift and how important she was, she seemed to handle the situation very well.

Then there’s Galen. If I were to describe to you what type of male character Galen is, he is the kind where woman would melt under the sight of his appearance. Yeah,  that basically sums it up. Though to be honest there were time when I found him to be quite charming for his sweetness and protectiveness for Emma. Although there were times when I found him to be overprotective of her and ordered her around way too many times but I was glad when Emma took the matter in her hands and found the courage to stand up for herself.

Speaking of Emma and Galen, I found it very unique that not only is it told from both of their POV’s, but also how Emma’s is told in first person, and Galen’s in third. At times it was difficult from the transition of  Emma to Galen, but after a while I’ve managed to get used to it.

Despite enjoying the plot, characters and the whole understanding of Syrena,(not mermaids as they dislike being referred to that term) I did have face a few problems with this book. As previously mentioned, I have an interest in Greek mythology since a couple of years ago, when I first read the Percy Jackson series. However, while reading Of Poseidon, I noticed that the author hasn’t done her research right. In Of Poseidon it was clearly written that Triton and Poseidon are brothers when in fact, Triton is Poseidon’s son. A part of me inside died a little that the author had made a mistake-which may not seem like a big deal but really it is-and didn’t bother to fix her mistake.

Another thing I cam across while reading this book is that it deals with a major issue;sexism. During the book there was scene when the side characters were arguing about marriage and that woman are to chosen only if they are able to mate. The message I am getting from this is that woman are to be ordered around by males, that they must obey them no matter what. This upsets me because (being a female myself) I feel that making them appear weak is a disgrace to all woman, and that perhaps if the author had portrayed the sexist society in this book differently, in a manner where it is wrong, than things would have been much better.

The ending of this book was not the kind I was expecting. A cliffhanger. Everybody loves those…right?(Nah, just kiddin’) I was ready to leave the house instantly and head over to the bookstore but of course that didn’t happen. So instead I strangled a pillow while I created theories as to what will happen next because that cliffhanger was seriously not a nice one. I’m quite excited for the next one and hopefully will able to get it in my hands very soon.

Overall, I recommend you give Of Poseidon a go(unless the topic sexism doesn’t work out for you, you might want to stay away from this book). Despite the two major problems I had, they didn’t keep me from enjoying the story overall and the ending will definitely have you wanting for more.

6 thoughts on “Of Poseidon by Anna Banks (Book Review)

  1. HOLLY says:

    I read this book about a month ago, and I didn’t even realize that Triton and Poseidon weren’t brothers. That’s so bad that the author didn’t do her research correctly!!! I still enjoyed the book, though. Great review! 🙂

    • kharthi505 says:

      Thanks!:)
      I feel that if I hadn’t known any background information on Greek Mythology, I would of also thought that “Triton and Poseidon are brothers”. Considering how we use information we learn on a daily basis, I feel that it’s important for that piece of information to be correct or else we, as readers will be sharing wrong answers with others. But like you said, I didn’t let that take away my enjoyment for the book itself. 😀

  2. Becky's Book Talk says:

    Its annoying when people mix their mythology up but other than that Of Poseidon sounds fantastic! It’s been on my tbr for a while but I can never find a paperback copy in Waterstones – although this is making me want to read it right now – I wonder if its available for kindle!

Leave a Reply

