Across the Universe by Beth Revis (Book Review)

     

Title: Across the Universe (Across the Universe #1)

Author: Beth Revis

Release Date: January 11th, 2011

Publisher: Razorbill

Format: Paperback

Source: Purchased

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone – one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship – tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

My Thoughts:

First of all can we all please take a look at how beautiful the cover of the first edition of “Across the Universe” is? Publishers why did you have to change it when it already has caught so many peoples eyes at the bookstore.  This is one thing I still don’t-and probably never will-understand nowadays as to what goes on in there minds. *Sighs* (Though to be honest I’ve actually grown to like the newer covers for the ATU trilogy, and since I own a copy of second edition cover-which I don’t like btw), I may as well purchase the rest-including the first-in the new covers so that they all match.^_^)

At least the map of the ship located inside the book is gorgeous:

Across the Universe Map

Anyways, I LOVED this book with all my heart. I can’t even stress enough how many times I’ve recommended this to my friends and always smiled while explaining to them what it’s about. You may or may not know this but one of my most favourite genre in YA is Sci-fi, specifically when it is focused on space. And that my friend, is where this book takes place. A book about 2 main characters, on a spaceship flying in space to another planet with romance and mystery. Done. BAM! I am SOLD. Every expectations of mine has been met and I was very satisfied.

Amy, a 16 year old girl, had the choice to join her parents on a mission to another planet that will take approximately 300 years, on a spaceship called Godspeed. They were to be frozen both inside and out, locked in individual chambers, and awoken in the future where they will have reached the planet. With Amy’s parent’s being very important people, it is a must for them to take this mission no matter what, leaving Amy with a choice. Either to stay with her beloved boyfriend, friends and other family members, or leave them forever. Choosing to go, Amy and her parents get put away in there chambers, forzen, and onto the ship.

250 years later, Amy is unexpectedly unplugged from her chambers by someone, leaving her to melt and coming close to facing death. Fortunately, she was saved in time and was told by a 17 year old boy named Elder, raised to be the future leader of the ship, that there was approximately 50 years left until they reached their destination and came to conclusion that someone was trying to kill her. Later do we find that Amy for sure isn’t the last to be unplugged, but may be the first  to several more. Slowly we get to the see the story unravel as it is Amy’s job to not only stick out like a sore thumb and fit in, but to find who her murderer is, and stop he/she before things get out of hand.

The fact that this book took place on a ship was so fascinating. We meet people who are different from those who live on earth, not only appearance wise but also their lifestyle. Since the people living on the ship were literally born on the ship, they have never been or seen earth, so they try replicate a world relatively close to it using stories they’ve heard about it as well as there own imagination. Such as creating their own sun, or their own land, making it as close as possible to the real thing, when really it’s not. Something like that was so intriguing to read about.

Now what I really liked about the book was how it was told from two POV’s, both Amy’s and Elder’s. It was nice to see what the characters were thinking and see several events take place from their own perspectives, either scenes we might of seen differently from the other, or maybe not at all. Amy I felt was a strong-willed character who was determined to dig deep and find the truth behind the hidden secrets which lay withing the ship, alongside Elder who was also a great character and I grew to like him alot.

Overall, choosing to read this book was probably one of the best choices I’ve made this year because once I’ve finished it, it  made me realize how much I missed exploring more about space. This book is jam packed with mystery, thrilling moments, and a fast pace I couldn’t bear to set it down. I really loved this book and it is one my absolute favourite reads as of 2014 and I can’t wait to pick up the sequel and continue on with this trilogy. Highly recommended! 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Across the Universe by Beth Revis (Book Review)

  1. chitownbooks says:

    Hi I came across your blog, and I love it! I’ve been trying to find other book bloggers like myself, and it would be greatly appreciated if you check out mine. Thanks (:

    • kharthi505 says:

      Hello! Haha & thank you!:) I also just checked out yours and followed back. I feel the same towards your blog and am looking forward to future posts from
      you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

