Blog Tour: Branded by Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki (Book Review)

 

      Title: Branded (Sinners #1)

      Author: Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki

      Release Date: June 28,2013

      Format: e-Book

      Source: Netgalley/Author

     

* I received a copy in exchange for an honest review. *

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Fifty years ago the Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. He created the Hole where sinners are branded according to their sins and might survive a few years. At best. 
Now LUST wraps around my neck like blue fingers strangling me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit and now the Hole is my new home. 

Darkness. Death. Violence. Pain. 

Now every day is a fight for survival. But I won’t die. I won’t let them win.

The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me. 
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter. 
My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

My thoughts:

 

The moment you flip to the first chapter you will be thrown with tons of action in your face so you better hold onto your seat. Branded is a dystopian book taken place after World War V (if I remember correctly) and in a society which I will never dream of living in. Ever.

Ya so this place called the “Hole”? Never will I ever want to be there. Trust me, you wouldn’t either. So lets start of with talking about the plot. One word. FREAKIN-TASTIC! The concept of the book that being branded for performing a sin is a brilliant idea, so raw and different which is what makes it stand out from other dystopian books.  The world  was very well-developed as it was interesting to read more about the society. World building is very important because in order for the entire book to stay together and not fall apart which most authors struggle to do however, Abi and Missy have done very nicely.

Now let me briefly explain about the “Hole“. It is  a place where everyone who is accused for having sin is taken to and is first branded then tortured to live, work and die there. The “Hole” is basically your new home, where everyone judges you by your brand, not for who you really are. Every individual is assigned a guard who guards them and make sure they go to work. Basically a sinner’s life schedule consists of work and sleep. Nothing more, and nothing less. The person head of the “Hole” is the Commander, an inhuman, cruel man who just loves to torture those who are accused for a deadly sin. This society is just so messed, which is what makes it so interesting to dive into.

Lexi, a girl accused for Lust, was sent to the “Hole”, the very terrifying place. However, she is not the type who will back down, or give up, or even break her promises. Through out the story, you will see from beginning to end you will see both her weakness and strength and how she develops as a person both on the outside and inside and learn to keep her self intact in order to stay alive.

Cole on the other hand, is (a swoon worthy) guard who was assigned to watch over Lexi. He in fact takes his work seriously and may also be one of those who still hold a human heart. What I mean by this is that every men trained to be guards are not only cocky, but heartless as well. They will  as they please, torture and even kill those who get in their way.

The relationship between these two characters is just soo intense I want them to be together, but on the other hand I don’t. The thing is, there are many consequences when it comes to love in this society. A relationship between a sinner and guard is a big NO;it is forbidden to do so. Like I said, there are many consequences including execution.

Now I don’t want to give too much away but the side characters in this book has definitely made this book even more enjoyable as they were many heart warming and wrenching moments. Abi and Missy has done a phenomenal job at making me feel for some of the characters specifically one, which I am not going to name. These side characters has definitely made an impact to the plot as well as making the book complete as a whole.

The overall pace of this book is so consistent that never did I find myself bored while reading a particular scene, or wanting to put it down. There was always something happening one after the other which is what made me constantly at the edge of my seat. This book is a must read for all dystopian fans and is definitely worth the read. For short, I loved this book and will be continuing to read this series with the second one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

