Eve & Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate (Book Review)

   Title: Eve & Adam (Eve & Adam #1)

   Author: Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate

   Release Date: October 2, 2012

   Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

   Format: Hardcover

   Source: Library

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

And girl created boy…

In the beginning, there was an apple—

And then there was a car crash, a horrible injury, and a hospital. But before Evening Spiker’s head clears a strange boy named Solo is rushing her to her mother’s research facility. There, under the best care available, Eve is left alone to heal.

Just when Eve thinks she will die—not from her injuries, but from boredom—her mother gives her a special project: Create the perfect boy.

Using an amazingly detailed simulation, Eve starts building a boy from the ground up. Eve is creating Adam. And he will be just perfect… won’t he? -Goodreads

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

From beginning to end, this book will have you gripped in one spot and have you grasping for more.

This book starts off with the main protagonist, Evening, getting hit by a car, and ends up with not just a few broken bones, but a whole lot.

Literally her whole leg is sever, that she needed an operation to re-attach it. Once she does undergo the operation, her mom literally rushes in and out of the hospital with her daughter to her company’s workplace.

There, Eve was given a task by her mother, to create the perfect boy, using this high-tech computer which literally, allows you to create any gender from scratch. When I say scratch I mean, beautiful eyes, nose , mouth and flawless skin. Oh and forgot to mention those strong muscles and abs. Scary as it seems, this is all to make the perfect boy.

By being distracted into making the perfect boy, whom she named, Adam, it seemed as though she can walk perfectly once again, like the accident had never happened.

With curiosity, she slowly starts unwrapping her cast, and to her surprise, finds her re- attached leg, new with no scars behind.

What?

Yeah, that was my expression too.

After reading the first few pages of the book at school, I knew what I’ll be doing right after school. I had a date that I couldn’t miss.

Page after page, I literally was not able to stop reading. There was a surprise after every mystery and although some I was able to guess, the rest just threw me off.

And  did I mention how beautiful and eye catching the cover looks? I have to say, this cover fits perfectly with the story line.

The writing style though, wasn’t the best I’ve read, I mean it wasn’t the worst, yet it definitely wasn’t the best. Nevertheless, I still enjoyed reading the book from 3 different perspectives, Eve, Solo and Adam, having to see the world in their point of view.

In the end, the book did end up nicely, and I was really happy about the ending. Although I was surprised due to the fact that, even though everything was wrapped up pretty nicely after all the action that took place, that there is going to be second book.

What?

After the last page, there was note saying, “The story continues in Adam & Eve.”

I have no idea what the next book will be about, and to tell you the truth, I think Eve & Adam can be devoured and be read as a contemporary. Nevertheless, since I enjoyed this book, I will be continuing this series.

Overall, I really did enjoy Eve & Adam, as I sneaked in some reading while class was in session, and would definitely recommend to those who want a unique, different, fun read.

5 thoughts on “Eve & Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

