Lovely, Dark and Deep by Amy Mcnamara (Book Review)

Title: Lovely, Dark and Deep

Author: Amy Mcnamara

Release Date: October 16, 2012

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library

*********************************************************************************

Since the night of the crash, Wren Wells has been running away. Though she lived through the accident that killed her boyfriend Patrick, the girl she used to be didn’t survive. Instead of heading off to college as planned, Wren retreats to her father’s studio in the far-north woods of Maine. Somewhere she can be alone.

Then she meets Cal Owen. Dealing with his own troubles, Cal’s hiding out too. When the chemistry between them threatens to pull Wren from her hard-won isolation, Wren has to choose: risk opening her broken heart to the world again, or join the ghosts who haunt her.

*********************************************************************************

This book…this book was just soo…I can’t even…it was that good.

A realistic, heart whelming YA contemporary novel.

Get ready to bury yourself with this beautiful poetic written story, leading towards a dark path, yet with a shining end.

I felt that everything that was happening in this book was carefully planned out and written. Every single word, sentence, and paragraph was written so beautifully, full emotion. I could literally feel the feelings the author has put into, while writing this story. Amy Mcnamara’s poetic writing style had really touched my heart.

I thought Wren/Mamie was a very different, yet  an interesting character to see as. She has two different names, Wren and Mamie. Wren was given by her father, whereas Mamie was given by her mother, who are divorced and have completely different personalities. I really liked the idea of being given 2 different names because I then got the chance to see her live before the accident , and after the accident. Before the accident, she was mostly referred as Mamie, the popular, loud, and sociable type of girl. Whereas after the accident, she was referred to Wren, a more quite, independent person. Although at times I did find myself wanting to yell at Wren to move on from the past, but understood what it would be like if I were in her shoes. However, she then starts to notice her surroundings, and slowly, starts to take a step forward.

I really liked the relationship happening between Wren and Cal. I felt that every time they were together, not only did their relationship grow stronger, but also made them individually stronger. They both had experienced a painful past, yet survived and in the end met their hope of light. A light that will lead him/her in the right direction. A light that will always be there for him/her during those tough times. That light is someone who understands , and supports him/her until the end. And that light is called, a friend. I am really glad both Wren and Cal had found each other, but as more than just friends. They both needed that one person to help pull them out the black hole, and toward the bright light.

After finishing this book, I thought back to how her relationship with her family and friends who had helped her change the way she thought and the way she acted by giving her love and support. I’ve come to especially love her relationship with her father and house keeper, Marie, who understood her  the most and were always there for her during her toughest times. However, I wasn’t  very pleased with her relationship with her mother and best friend. Of course they worried and cared for her, but they treated her differently from how her father and house keeper did. They simply told her to forget her past, and move on, not understanding how doing so is a difficult task for Wren.

I had no idea what I was getting myself into when i first started this book. At first I didn’t really have any high expectations for this book, thinking it was going to be a typical teenage story who-can’t-get-over- her-grief. BUT BOY WAS I WRONG! At first, the story starts off slow, but as new characters get introduced, interest and emotions kicked in! The beautifully poetic written words in this book resembled the story so much, that i felt emotional the entire time I was reading it. From beginning to end, this story has touched my heart, and made me relate to the real world.

Besides the  story itself being amazing, the cover itself was just so beautiful! The title, image, and colours used, resembled the story so much, that after every page i read, i stop just to look at the cover. I don’t think I’ll ever see another beautiful tree as this, in the real world.

Overall, I found this book to be very realistic and relate able, and has taught me that not everyone’s life is as easy as others, and taking that one step forward is not as easy as it may seem. Don’t be deceived by the cover, because this book is definitely, “Lovely, Dark and Deep”.

One thought on “Lovely, Dark and Deep by Amy Mcnamara (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

