Nightshade by Andrea Cremer (Book Review)

A very interesting plot with a combination of wolves!

Title: Nightshade (Nightshade #1)

Author: Andrea Cremer

Release date: October 19th, 2010

Publisher: Philomel

Format: Harcover

Source: Library

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she’ll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters’ laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything- including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

*Sigh* So much for avoiding werewolves…XD

Once diving into this fast paced book full of unexpected twists and romance, there’s no stopping.

The main heroine Calla, has a personality made me want to be her best friend. She is strong, bold, ready for action, and fierce. Nevertheless, she is very loyal and protective to her pack, and will do anything to keep them from danger. Even if it means sacrificing her life.

Life went on normally until she meets Shay, a boy who interested her the moment she saved him. Calla is willing to do anything to be with him, including breaking the rules and putting herself in danger. However, there is only one person stopping her from taking action. Ren, her alpha mate, the one she’s suppose to be with. She isn’t sure about her feelings towards him, and isn’t really sure on how he feels about her. From beginning to end, the problem gets even more confusing and problematic for Calla, but she surprisingly, pulled through.

The love triangle in this book was surprisingly done well. In some cases, there are unnecessary, annoying love triangles but not in this one, which made me love this book even more. Both male characters had characteristics that described them well by their actions. Both were very likeable which made me understand why both characters mean alot to Calla. Though I’ve got to admit that at times I found myself blushing inside because boy, was the love intense and…sexy! I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with so much sexual romantic tension happening before! I felt like I was on a roller coaster ride the entire time! (Which was a good thing)

The rest of the characters had interesting personalities and great character development. I found that while continuing to read this book, that I became attached to them. Their existence in this book made the book even more enjoyable and the plot more interesting.

Once you pick up this book, the action takes place from the very first page, and you won’t be disappointed because it doesn’t slow down. What I really liked about this book is that everything had a connecting to one another, and in the end, lead to one main thing. In this book you will learn about so many things, like more in depth about the packs, the Searchers, the Keepers, and the Guardians, that it will overload you with information, yet, keeps you hooked.

I am not impressed with the new covers over the old ones because the old cover was very eye catching, had vibrant colours, and was absolutely BEAUT-I-FUL! Whereas the new covers are the complete opposite. At least they kept the font the same since the blood dripping on one of the letters looks really cool! However my thoughts on the covers do not affect my thoughts on the book itself. Preferably, I like the old cover better than the new ones.

Overall, Nightshade was a fabulous read, and is a must read for paranormal fans. I literally fell in love with the way this book was written. The writing was just absolutely mesmerizing to read. As a result of liking this book way too much, I just had to read the next two books in the series, Wolfsbane and Bloodrose. (Reviews for those two will be posted soon so stay tuned!) Andrea Cremer has a talent to make fans (including me), swoon!

4 thoughts on “Nightshade by Andrea Cremer (Book Review)

  1. bribookishconfessions says:

    Love your blog by the way. 🙂
    This book sounds so interesting! The first thing that I noticed about this book was the cover… Oh my gosh.. This cover! I want the old version and not the newer edition.
    I can’t say I’ve read many werewolf books, besides the Twilight Saga, which honestly doesn’t really count really. Can’t wait to pick this book up! 🙂

    • kharthi505 says:

      Thank you!:) I love your blog as well!^^
      Yes I love the old cover as well 😥 It is sad to see that they changed the cover just to bring in more audience…but i think the complete opposite happended. XD They could of at least added a shine or shimmer to the book to make it more “eyecatching” but no.
      Also, I can’t wait to hear what you think of it!^^

      • bribookishconfessions says:

        I absolutely LOVE the old cover! The new cover especially for Nightshade just looks dumb in my opinion… I don’t really like the cover changes at all!
        But, that won’t stop me from liking the series and reading it just because of the covers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

